Minutes of the meeting held on 1st Feb 2017
Mrs Armsby welcomed 19 members & 1 visitor.
APOLOGIES were received from Rosemary White, Gypsie Duncan, Audrey Hudson & Pam Cann.
Minutes of the last meeting were read & signed.
CORRESPONDENCE. Mrs Lankfer read a card from Mrs Thulbourne thanking everyone for the card & flowers she had received following her recent operation.
Mrs Armsby had been contacted by Margaret Knights from Wereham, who has lots of Good Quality material squares to give away if anyone would like some. Several members will contact her.
Jenny Elsey is collecting any outstanding subs due for 2017.
Birthday cards were presented to Jenny Elsey & Janet Burns by Mrs Horgen who agreed to be responsible for buying cards each month, and will reclaim costs from club funds.
ROTAS for March. There are no March birthdays.
TEAS Hazel Hearne & Anita Horgen.
DOOR & RAFFLE Jenny Elsey & Sheila Smith.
VOT Janet Cooper.
The speaker will be Tim green, who will give a floral demonstration.
Mrs Armsby then introduced Kelvin Smith, a local historian. He was a founder member of the Oxborough heritage group formed to investigate the history of the village. It was interesting to learn how the buildings of today were formerly used, for example, the Bedingfield Arms was the home of the resident Catholic priest, and was not leased to brewers until 1854. The beautiful church tower was struck by lightning & never rebuilt. The group received a grant from the Heritage lottery fund in 2014, to produce a book. This will be published in 2018.
Mr Smith was thanked by Mrs Horgen.
The raffle was won by Marjorie Stevens, Anita Horgen & Kelvin Smith.
The meeting ended at 9.15pm
Claire Lankfer ( secretary ).


Minutes of the meeting held on Jan 4th 2017.
Mrs Armsby welcomed 19 members.
APOLOGIES were received from Carol Thulbourne, Gillian Smith, Pam Cann & Audrey Hudson.
Minutes of the two previous meetings were read & signed.
Members were reminded that subs of £10 are due for 2017, & Mrs Elsey will be collecting them.
Mrs Armsby thanked Mrs Cooper for preparing the new programme which contains a good variety to suit everyone. Mrs Cooper suggested that Feb should be an open meeting so that anyone who is interested in the history of Oxborough can come. Members agreed.
Birthday posies were presented to Rosemary White & Sheila Smith. Carol Thulbourne’s & Audrey Hudson’s would be delivered.
Mrs Horgen raised the idea that posies should perhaps be replaced by cards, as it was usually the same few people who offered to do flowers. A majority agreed to give cards a try, & Mrs Horgen said that she would get some.
ROTAS for Feb
TEAS Janet Cooper & Mavis smith
DOOR & RAFFLE Wendy Quadling & Janet Burns
VOT Anita Horgen
Mrs Quadling then read two funny poems that had been sent to her by some relations in Canada.
Mrs Armsby handed out a quiz in which we had to identify celebrity catchphrases. Jenny Elsey’s team won.
The raffle was then drawn, with each member providing and winning a wrapped prize.
The meeting ended at 9.15 pm
The open meeting will take place at Stoke ferry community centre at 7.30pm, when Kelvin Smith, a local historian, will give a talk about the history of Oxborough village. Visitors are welcome at £2.00 each.(including tea & biscuits).
Claire Lankfer (secretary)

Stoke Ferry & District Ladies Group


Report of the Stoke Ferry Ladies gathering on the 7th December, when 19 members met at The Jolly Brewers for a Christmas meal.
No official minutes were taken and it was agreed to take the minutes of the November meeting as read.
Everyone then enjoyed the meal of their choice with all the trimmings & the staff were thanked by Mrs Gillian Smith.
Mrs Hazel Hearne presented gifts to the officers to show appreciation of their work during the year & birthday posies given to 3 members.
Mrs Armsby reminded everyone of the January rotas :-
Teas Anita Horgen & Gypsie Duncan
Door & Raffle Valerie Kirchen & Heather Durrance
Anita & Heather also agreed to share the 4 posies for January
Mrs Armsby reminded members to each bring a wrapped raffle prize for January and concluded by wishing everyone a Very Happy Christmas.
The gathering broke up at 9.30pm.